October 2, 2014

  • My Rantang.

    Upon the request of a fellow blogger dosirakbento, who has been consistent in sharing her bento box creations online, I now present to you my bento box.

    Well, mine is not exactly a typical Japanese bento box per se.  Certainly not one that is comparable to the many dosirakbento has posted on her site.  But it is a lunch box just the same, and also of a Japanese brand, called Tiger.

    IMG_3785 IMG_3789 IMG_3787

    It is a tall grey cylindrical plastic storage for food that comes with a zipped up black padded carry-on bag.  The inside lining of this food box is made of metal, for an insulation purpose, to keep food warm longer.

    This particular lunch box is actually a three tier food box that includes three separate round plastic containers.

    IMG_3786

    The bottom container is the smallest in size with a screw-type lid that comes with a rubber ring inlay to support a tighter lock.  It is made to carry liquid, such as soup.  The middle container is the deepest and largest in size with a simpler screw-type lid.  While the top container is slightly larger than the bottom one, and comes with a semi-transparent plastic lid.

    I utilize this lunch box quite regularly.  Bringing food from home helps to save money, as well as the time spent from going out to find lunch, when it can productively be spent for other things.

    The three tier invention of this Japanese bento box resembles that of a traditional Chinese-Indonesian food box, which we locals here call rantang.  A type of food box that always comes in several containers stacked on top of the other.  So, the similar design concept on my Japanese lunch box appropriately promotes the idea of me conforming to a Chinese-Indonesian diet on a regular basis.

    I would almost always bring steamed rice with two different dishes in my rantang, opting veggies or a protein dish instead of soup.  Below are a few samples on what my lunch may look like.  They are presented simply, to stimulate how I would have it at home.

    IMG_8132 IMG_7829 IMG_8236

    And yes, since the deep middle container that keeps rice mimics that of a bowl, I would use a pair of chopsticks to eat my lunch with.  Always.  Dark brown in color, the one I regularly use is locally made with coconut wood.  It is squarish in design that tapers quite fine towards the bottom end, similar to that of Japanese chopsticks, making it easier to handle and to grip small pieces of food.

    IMG_8269

    I have used these rantang box and pair of chopsticks for many years now.  They are beginning to show signs of wear and tear, though not at all battered.  Although I have an oversized collection of wooden chopsticks, I have yet to search for a possible substitute for my rantang.  I may have to do just that soon, incase if this one starts giving problems.  I think I should be prepared.  Plus it is always nice to have options, no?

Comments (8)

  • oh your bento box is so cute. Where can I get one? Your food looks delicious :D

  • Growing up I had a container to take lunch to school, similar to your metal lined cylindrical container, yet with a screw on top. We called it a thermos. It kept hot foods like soup or pasta warm. However, it did not have separate interior containers like yours. I much like that idea because a variety with lunch would be much welcome rather than just a larger portion of the same. Eating from home is not only cheaper, but also usually healthier, at least here in America where they seem to add do muvh salt, fat and preservatives to nearly everything.

  • Do you heat up the food in a microwave oven or does it stay warm? I remember something similar when I was a kid, a metal multi layer containers.

    Btw – I read your title too fast and thought it said My Ranting. As I was reading your entry, I still couldn’t figure out what you wanted to rant about. *rolls eyes*

  • It looks like a tiered thermos flask that we used to have at home. Kept warm liquids warm and cold liquids cold. I think the US has something similar here,; my daughter fixes lunch for my grandson and puts it in something like this and he takes it with him to school.

  • well, i have no idea where you could get it where you live. i got it at a department store, in the kitchen section, where they have some japanese stuff. the use of lunch box/rantang is very common here, and so we would find many choices available.

  • yeah, i remember that ‘thermos’. we had that too here. but mostly the local lunch box you’ll see here is of metal containers stacked together. rather like the indian ‘tiffin’.

  • no, i don’t heat up my food. i just eat them slightly warm or at room temperature. we do have those metal multi layer containers. it’s what you’ll find most of the local lunch boxes would be like. as for the title, i had it first written as ‘my bento’ because it sounded cute, but i changed it at the last minute to ‘my rantang’. maybe i shouldn’t have.

  • it sure is convenient to have and use. when i was little, i used to have an all metal one. similar to the indian ‘tiffin’.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.