October 31, 2014

  • Sunday BBQ.

    It was Sunday.  One of my many aunts called out of the blue to extend an invitation for dinner at her place.  It was the perfect timing.  Dad already left for a business trip, and left mum and me to scramble our brains to figure out what’s best to have for dinner.  We actually have settled on an idea for dining out, before luck decided to bestow us with my aunt’s generosity.

    It was never planned.  Aunty went to the wet market in the morning.  She found the seafood to be exceptionally good there and decided to buy a bunch of them for a barbeque dinner, and to share them with few relatives who live nearby.  As luck would have it, we live less than five minutes away from her.

    Upon arrival to her house, we saw white smoke coming out from the white painted tall steel gate that separates the main road and her open garage space.  Through the cracks of the gate I could make out someone was burning or cooking something.  I called out few words and it was my aunt who replied and opened the gate for us.

    As we walked though the gate opening, I found she has started grilling with her mini barbeque box, filled with red hot charcoals.  The black metal barbeque box was stationed at the bottom of the steps that lead to the main door and house entrance, right by where her car was parked.

    She then went back to her seat, sitting at the bottom of the steps lined with newspaper, fanning the charcoals with her yellow plastic heart-shaped fan in one hand, while turning food on the grill with a pair of thongs in the other.

    IMG_8825

    Among the several bowls and plates of raw whole fish, jumbo prawns, and fat squids, I noticed a green plastic bowl that contained her secret weapon.  A simple concoction of many freshly squeezed limes, melted butter, salt, and hot water.

    IMG_8832

    She would dip or immerse the raw seafood in this mixture right before grilling, and would occasionally brush them off with some more of this concoction when she feels the need to do so.  She likes to keep things simple and so she would stick to using only few ingredients.  The limes to give a sense of freshness and to get rid of any fishy aroma, melted butter for an additional fragrant and some sort of lubricant to prevent excessive sticking to the grill, and salt for flavor.

    The lime liquid mixture won’t actually flavor them seafood in a major way.  It is just enough to bring out and complement the natural flavors.  Me and mum just stood there watching my aunt doing what she does best.  Despite the smoke, our mouths watered just by the smell and the sight of beautiful pieces of fish, prawns, and squids turned color and dripped their juices right to the bottom of the grill, creating more smokes from the burning charcoals.

    IMG_8826IMG_8835

    And do you see this?...

    IMG_8830

    Yup, this baby is ALL MINE.  You gotta love an aunt who knows what you like and makes one especially for you.  I’m feeling much of the love.

    Alas, all of the seafood are grilled, plated, and brought to the dining table.

    IMG_8842

    There on the table set for eight, were some accompaniments to go with the grilled seafood.  There were boiled veggies, grilled petai, spicy chilies, sweet black ketchup, and fresh limes.

    But the true star from all those accompaniments are these two devils…

    IMG_8844IMG_8843

    Fiery spicy chili condiments that would send the grilled seafood to the next level of awesomeness.  These two especially tasty when combined together with freshly squeezed limes and sweet thick black soybean ketchup we call kecap manis.

    After 2-3 helpings, we were all smiling with contentment.  We chatted before, during, and after the meal.  We don’t do this often, and so it was nice to be able to gather at a single dining table, and enjoy a home cooked meal.  I think it is safe to say that I was one of the greediest.  Here’s prove...

    IMG_8845

    As always, the after dinner mouth cleansing come in the form of fruits.  Tonight, my aunt prepared some fresh papaya and mangoes.

    IMG_8863IMG_8861

    To top it all off, we had some ice cream.  Since I was invited for dinner, I thought it would be nice to bring something.  And so I got them four flavors of ice cream; avocado, durian, jackfruit, and vanilla.

    IMG_8854IMG_8857

    My all time favorites are the avocado and jackfruit flavors.  Most of them like the strong durian flavor, as most locals do.  I’m glad I got the plain vanilla as well, for it went well with the fresh fruits.  The combination of vanilla ice cream with the papaya and mangoes made it seem as if one was eating a fruit smoothie.

    Tummies visibly got rounder, pants suddenly felt super tight, and sleepiness begun to creep into everyone’s subconscious.  We all gathered at the living room.  The television was on, but nobody was really watching it.  We still chatted about this and that.  Feeling unnoticed, my aunt’s dog stepped away from us.  During dinner she begged for food.  Now she  seemed bored and lonely.  And so I got down to the floor and gave her the attention she needed.

    IMG_8869IMG_8867

    The tile floor was nice and cool.  But the dog’s body was not, especially with such thickness of a coat.  Soon my hand felt rather too warm to stay on her for a long period of time.  Kinda like resting on a wool sweater.

    She is one adorable pet.  Her coat as thick as a winter’s jacket made her seem massive, like a moving giant snow ball.  Her paws are about half the size of the palm of my hand.  While her teeth give the impression that she could tear your arms right off from your limb.

    IMG_8851IMG_8853

    But the truth is, she is as tame as a turtle.  Doesn’t easily bark at anyone.  And she is easily calmed just by being touched.  She craves attention and loves it when one stays beside her and stroke her.  She truly is a gentle giant.  And I love touching her ears.  Soft and smooth as cotton balls.

    After about half an hour keeping her company, we decided that it was time to call it a night.  Well, I did.  Being with my aunt’s dog made me feel guilty about being away from home, where my own dog sitting patiently alone, waiting for me and mum to return.  And so we left.

    The evening was a welcoming addition to the otherwise a boring Sunday.  Once again, I was drenched from head to waist, thanks to fiery and tongue-numbing condiments.  My body just not good at withstanding the intense heat of spicy food.  But it was worth it.  The meal was better than what I could have at many restaurants, and the company were enjoyable to be with.

    When I got home I hugged tight my baby as she excitedly ran to me and licked me.  But not for long.  She quickly moved away and be with mum.  I sensed she got a bit jealous.  She must have sniffed a competitor’s smell on my clothes.  She frequently gives me the silent treatment now.  In her eyes, I have been cheating on her.  Sigh, what to do…

Comments (8)

  • I really enjoyed this entry. The food, the togetherness, the dog (awww...) and the desserts / fruits to cool off the heat. J would have enjoyed the spice and the ice creams.

    As for your dog, I think you need to have a date night with her.

  • Such a good post Rudy! The home cooked meal, cooked with love and care, is always better than that in a five star restaurant.
    I loved the prawns and the fish that were grilled, and the fruits... how did your aunt get fresh mangoes at this time of the year? Dang, that made my mouth water. Your aunt's dog is adorable. SO lovely and loving.
    I am not sure I can take the fiery spicy dish. I would have tried it though. Thank you for a great post.

  • Very good post. I love the descriptive writing,accompanied by photos. The seafood looks and sounds delicious. Your Aunt's dog is great;, so fluffy and beautiful. It was nice of you to notice her and take some time to sit with her.
    The icecream to go with the fresh fruit was a perfect choice, and it shows you are a good guest to bring a hostess gift. I was brought up to do that also, but it seems not to be as common anymore. Personally, I've never tried durian or jackfruit. I'm not even sure those varieties are available here, so I'd be curious to try a spoonful or two of those flavors.

    I hope you signed up for the free 6month Xanga extension and continue to blog.

  • you are so lucky, yummy food. Your auntie's dog is adorable indeed. I do not remember whether your have posted a photo of your baby? can you share again please. :)

  • The food looks delicious! Yummo! The dog is so adorable. I love this entry. : )

  • You wrote a great blog here on Halloween; I hope your Thanksgiving and Christmas were just as Pleasant.

  • I returned and wanted to update that I've now tried Jackfruit chips and they are so good!
    You are probably blogging elsewhere by now; Haven't seen you on Xanga in ages. I wish you well in all your endeavors.

  • i now have moved to wordpress. feel free to check out my new site https://rudyhou.wordpress.com/

    thank you for stopping by.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Recent Comments

Categories