January 15, 2013

  • Anticipating Hong Kong.

    Early flights always wearying me down. I never get a good enough sleep the night before I travel. And to top it all off with an early flight, well, I’m no Mary Poppins. I checked in online with Cathay Pacific the night before, making sure I get a seat that I prefer. Way at the back and by the window. I always let everyone out first once the plane lands. They always seemed to be in a hurry, and I hate to stand in line with those who have no patience. And so I almost always make myself the last to get up from my seat to exit the plane. This is why I prefer to sit at the back.

    The lack of sleep had me worried a little. I kept thinking of the fellow xangans I’ll get to hang with; Angel (@agmhkg), Chris (@christao408), Gary (@currypuffy), and Nick (@beowulf222), as well as Doris (@snowjunky8) and Kenny, a xangan who is no longer active. I needed to be all jolly good to enjoy the trip and so couldn’t afford to get sick. I asked the flight attendant for a glass of water, took out a tablet of vitamin C with zinc, plunged it in, and watched the tablet hissed itself to a smaller size and brilliantly colored the water with its bubbly blackcurrant flavor. I gazed outside the window and found the sky was clear, bright and full of promises, and thought to myself 'Yes, this is going to be a pleasant trip'.

    IMG_4241 IMG_4247

    The landing was smooth. I was stoked to find Hong Kong airport provides free Wi-Fi. I checked my mails on my phone while waiting at the long immigration line. Gary sent me a welcome message. Knowing that he had made a dinner arrangement for us for that very evening, I got all excited. Chris texted me to say that he was already waiting for me at the baggage claim area. He was hard to miss, being so tall. Dressed in a nicely pressed long sleeve dress shirt, all tucked in, complete with a pair of dark jeans and dress shoes, he looked perfectly fitting for dining out at the notorious Peninsula Hotel. I felt somewhat embarrassed for dressing down in my t-shirt, cargo pants, and sneakers. Still, it was good to get a cheerful welcome from a friend, especially in a foreign country.

    We got ourselves some Hong Kong currencies and a HK$200 three-day pass that includes round trip express train between the airport and the city, as well as an unlimited use of the subway. What later followed that day and the next four-night stay in Hong Kong, surpassed what I had anticipated. Making friends with fellow xangans and their friends was only the tip of the iceberg. Between us all, we represented ten nations and eight languages. The trip was also too short to allow a sufficient exploration of all of the culinary gems the country has to offer, despite the full schedule of breakfast, lunch, afternoon-tea, and dinner, on EVERY SINGLE DAY of my stay. And I did have the stomach for it, glad to say.

    The food scene is worth celebrating by the locals and visitors alike. Just like the city itself, the food exudes richness in authenticity, flavors, and variety, with a perfect partnership of East meets West. From a hole-in-the-wall eatery to Michelin star dining, from milk tea to beer on the tap, from wonton noodle to scones, from monastery vegetarian fare to all-pork based menu joint, the city offers them all. Take your pick, go with excitement, and dine in glee. Hong Kong IS the place to be for hardcore foodies. I certainly felt very much at home there and wouldn’t think twice of the possibility of going back for a second culinary detour. I, for one, am hooked.

    There is so much to share on this adventure. It is impossible to describe each and every single happiness I got from a food coma. Believe me when I say I felt like I was in food heaven. There were many good memories. I remembered Nick and his handsome vintage Leica camera, the two and half hour long wait for a table at a dim sum place (thanks to Chris), the gondola trip up to see the Big Buddha, the sedative feel of a Chinese tea preparation, the many eye-popping and drool worthy selections of high-tea delicacies, and last but not least, the many happy smiling faces I had the privilege to get to know. Still, it would be rude not to leave a trail of pics. So here is a quick peek inside my memory of the trip…

    IMG_4359 IMG_4375_2 IMG_4386 IMG_4390 IMG_4469 IMG_4482 IMG_4502 P1100562 P1100563 P1100586 P1100592 P1100714 P1100639 P1100658 P1100718

Comments (18)

  • I'm glad you have achieved multiple food orgasms on this short trip! I hope there'll be many more to come! :P  

    By the way, nice snippets of photos!

  • My Leica is going to blush when I tell her she was referred to as "handsome".

  • I'm glad you folks are posting your versions of the trip.  It's really neat to read all of them ... and the food pictures are making my stomach growl.  I should be asleep but I wanted to read this first (it's 1:41 AM here).  

  • You flatter me! I think I wasn't all that well dressed; just took the time to put on a long-sleeve shirt.

    Anyhow, I'm glad you had a good visit and it was fun spending time with you.

  • Sounds like a great trip. I am sure it is great meeting Xangians. The food is WOW!!

  • So happy you had a pleasant trip. 
    It is wonderful to see the photos of your adventure. 
    What type of camera do you shoot with? 
    *~matthew~*

  • Man...I should go to Asia soon.

    Have to find a place to crash though...

  • Great blog! Thanks for sharing.

  • Great shots of a great city!

  • When I first came to Mexico in August I arrive in Mexico City after 9:00 pm at night, and I had my flight the next morning at 6:00 am. I didn't want to pay for a hotel just for a number of hours so I just had dinner at a restaurant and afterwards I tried to sleep on the bench in the restaurant. I didn't really fall asleep, but I just rested for a number of hours.

    The employees in the restaurant told me it was no problem and I wasn't the only one doing it either. The Vancouver airport has free wi-fi now too, though a lot of the airports charge for it, and many don't even have it. It's a nice way to pass the time. Even though you were tired upon your arrival, once you have a chance to get a good sleep in your hotel I'm sure you'll be totally refreshed.

    It's very cool you are spending your time with such an international group, it makes the trip even more interesting. And there will definitely be so much amazing food for you to enjoy there, and as it's a giant Metropolis, you'll have much to see and do. I'm positive that you'll have a very memorable stay. Take care and I'll talk to you later, bye for now.

                 Kyle

  • Great food and awesome company... Sounds like an amazing trip. Definitely worth losing some sleep over :)

  • I missed all these & I miss HK too. The Big Budha is such such a serene place :)

  • Oh, but it sounds like a fantastic trip! I'm now back in Asia but I do wish I could have attended the meeting with all of you fine gentlemen. 

  • ooh! love HK. looking forward to reading more posts about your time there!

  • The trip was short, however you managed to try out a lot!

  • @CurryPuffy - lol.  thanks, gary.  and it's all partly thanks to U :)

    @beowulf222 - oh pls, nick!  it's so masculine even i fell in love with it.

    @ElusiveWords - lol.  matt, that's what you get for reading food related blog in late evening. i guess someone is having a sleeping problem again, huh?

    @christao408 - chris, u always dress nice.  i think tawn's habit must've rubbed off on you.  well, either that or i dress like a bum.  lol.  yes, i had a great time, and it's all partly thanks to U.

    @Fatcat723 - you bet, robert.  wait a minute, is that how one should call it?  xangians?  so it's not xangans?  boy, i've been wrong for the longest time.

    @bleuzeus - thanks, matthew.  i used both iphone 4 and pocket camera Lumix Panasonic.

    @Wangium - yes jason.  you should!  come come :)

    @Jitiam - you welcome, jitiam.  always my pleasure :)

    @CareyGLY - thanks, carey.  hongkong really IS a great city.

    @kyle061685 - thanks, kyle.  so you mean vancouver airport never did have free wi-fi until recently?  well then, at least now we know it's getting better.  in this day and age, i think ALL airports should have one.  

    @Devilzgaysianboi - you betcha, kev.  perhaps the next time we have another gathering you too would be able to join in.

    @oxyGENE_08 - yes, it was kinda serene up there, gene.  and very WINDY!  we couldn't stay long cause it was raining and the wind was strong.

    @secade - no worries, colin.  there is always the next time :)

    @Soapie - thanks, soapie.  thank you for stopping by and leaving a comment.  much appreciated :)

    @agmhkg - yes, it was way too short.  especially when we only got to hang out over a single meal.  i'm hoping to see you again for another xangan gathering.

  • @rudyhou - My Leica is a dame.

  • @beowulf222 - a dame?  pretty butch for a dame :p

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Recent Comments

Categories