June 17, 2013

  • Whose handwriting is this?

    8340290588_db28c603b0_c

    Those who have been stalking me on Xanga know that I’m a fan of fountain pens. I’d like to believe that a style of handwriting reflects closely to the character and personality of the writer that the handwriting belongs to. Some are loose and free spirited, some are orderly and proper, some are elaborate and loud, some are tiny and private, and some are just down right complex and incomprehensible.

    In the spirit of ‘writing’, now that Xanga may be shut down for good, I started to look back at my past blogs and reminisced the joys and sorrows I have shared by way of written words. An important aspect in being a part of a community is to share what affects you and what residues memorable and/or important to you. This past year, I had opportunities to meet up with some of my fellow Xangans in real life, and shared with them a part of who I am; my fondness for fountain pens.

    During these congregations some of them had an chance to write something on paper with use of my fountain pen. I am truly grateful for those who took the time to try it out, even just to get a feel of using one. What they DON’T know is that I have kept their handwriting samples with me all these times, including those that were written to me outside these gathering occasions.

    The following are pictures of handwriting samples from some of our fellow Xangans. All were handwritten on paper, and almost all with use of a fountain pen, though may not necessarily be mine. I wonder if you can guess the writers that these handwriting samples belonged to.

    Tagging @beowulf222, @christao408, @currypuffy, @jitiam, @stepaside_loser, @zsa_md.

    IMG_2525_2 IMG_2815 IMG_2813 IMG_3521 IMG_3578 IMG_3579 P1100638

    Now, I am NOT apt in guessing people’s traits from looking at their handwriting, but if a handwriting style blueprints the writer’s true persona, may this post does justice to display how approachable, brilliant, generous, laidback, responsive, supportive, and tolerant Xangan folks really are. Even if they don’t like to admit it themselves.

    If Xanga really is going to be shut down for good, I’m gonna miss them a ‘lottle’ (it’s like a little, except a lot). I sincerely hope I can continue to become acquainted with them, and allowed the chance to READ many more of their life adventures for years to come. Fingers crossed.

Comments (23)

  • I can write you a snail letter if you like.

  • This is really sweet, Rudy. I also can’t believe you kept it, but I loved this entry.

    The ones I know for sure are mine, Chris’s and Zakiah’s.
    And, based on where people grew up, I have educated guesses for Gary, Nick… which leaves jitiam with what’s left :P And, you’re one of them, too?

  • 6 names and 7 pictures, perhaps one of them belongs to you?

  • The map is Tawn’s, isn’t it?

  • I have no idea or even guess.

  • I guess the first one belongs to zsa_md? Gosh, I need to improve my handwriting! *blush*

  • #1 – Zakiah
    #2 – Andrew
    #3 – jitiam
    #4 – Gary
    #5 – Nick
    #6 – you
    #7 – Chris (only because there is Thai script)

  • There are amateur handwriting analysis folks here on xanga. I know a bit about handwriting analysis but of course it is not that scientific.

    I see the next to the last writing got smudged. I used to use rapiograph ink and the pens to make a fine line type of drawings. The new inks is something that I have not explored but maybe just maybe that will be a future blog. (I have to get my scanner working again too.)
    I believe if you scan handwriting it might come out clearer than a photograph using no macrolens.

  • The last picture, btw, contains the handwriting of several people.

  • Love this post Rudy. I know the first one. Let me see if I guess the others correct.

    2. Nick

    3. Andrew

    4. Gary

    5.Jitiam ( by way of exclusion)

    6. Rudy and

    I believe Chris has written the Thai script in the 7th, but I don’t believe he wrote all the lines there, especially the English lines. ( I cheated. I pulled out one of his cards he sent me and matched the writing. His ‘h’s and ‘y’s and ‘t’s are very different from what I see here. So I think the last one probably has many of your friends writing different wishes in different languages on one card.

    Waiting to hear the verdict.

  • I almost forgot you were into fountain pens ! I remember you used to write about them so often, but your food reports really took center stage in the last year ! It’s very cool you were able to meet so many of your friends from Xanga. I met one person about four years ago in San Francisco, but I think that was the only person off Xanga I ever actually met.

    Hand writing really is nice… it’s a shame that some schools will stop teaching it ! It would be super cool to be able to share some of your pens with all of the people from around the world you meet and being able to keep a copy of something they have written. It would certainly be an amazing gift to keep the memories.

    I actually got hired by a company in Mexico last November. So the job part was never the problem…. the company sponsored me months ago…. just this whole visa authorization process was taking forever. Now that I finally got the authorization, I’m hoping this next process doesn’t take super long as well.

    Take care and have a wonderful rest of the week, bye for now.

                  Kyle

  • @beowulf222 - I thought so.  I think I guessed right on yours.  

  • @ElusiveWords - Yes, but I am sure not based on handwriting.

  • Nice. I was too scared to touch your (pricey) pens when you showed it to us during our lunch meet up with Nick plus my handwriting is awful. xD

  • Gosh, I wish you were here yesterday. I wrote an inscription in a book I bought for someone as a graduation gift, and it looked like a 2 year old wrote it. I probably hadn’t used a pen in a year. LOL

  • @oxyGENE_08 - my handwriting is awful too.  I’m so used to using a keyboard.  

  • @beowulf222 - lol.  that will be swell.  though it defeats the purpose of having and using kakaotalk and whatsapp.

    @stepaside_loser - smart, yes, one of them is mine :) thanks for the rec.

    @christao408 - my mistake.  the pic has been changed with the correct one.  i wasn’t sure myself when i had it uploaded.  sorry about that.

    @Fatcat723 - no worries.  the idea is more about whether or not one can guess the personality of the writer judging from the handwriting.

    @CurryPuffy - i personally can’t judge your handwriting since it wasn’t written in alphabets. 

    @beowulf222 - @ElusiveWords - you got 4 out of 7 correct.  and yes, one of them is mine :)  and as nick said, the last one has handwritings belonged to several people.

    @PPhilip - thanks for the rec.  yeah, i don’t have a scanner and so i just took pics using my iphone.  the second last pic showed the smudging of the ink cause the ink was still somewhat wet.  it was a wetter ink than the other inks used on the other pics.  and since you are able to ‘analyze’ handwritings, how do you think they rate, personality wise?

    @oxyGENE_08 - no worries, gene.  i appreciate you didn’t want to damage my pen in any way.  i assume cause we didn’t know each other ’till that day.  others have known me on xanga prior to meeting up with me and so they were more comfortable in wanting to try out my pen.  the next time we meet up, feel free to ask for my pen for little scribbling.

    @ZSA_MD - thank you for the mini :)  you got 3 out of 7 correct.  yes, one of them is mine and yes, the last one consists of handwritings of several people.  so you cheated?? shame on you, zakiah.  you? cheated??   

    @kyle061685 - yeah, for whatever reason food just took my attention more this year.  especially when i decided to NOT post pics of my fountain pen collection on monthly basis.  now that xanga might be going away, i kinda regretted the fact that i haven’t posted enough pics of my fountain pen collection for this year.  maybe i should soon.

    @CareyGLY - you should have taken a pic of it and have it posted on xanga :)

  • @rudyhou - Well, doesn’t matter. Seems like snail mail is more eaves dropping proof than all the electronic media.

  • @rudyhou - hey, the map is different. 

    #1 – Zakiah
    #2 – Jitiam
    #3 – Chris
    #4 – Gary
    #5 – Nick
    #6 – you
    #7 – Andrew

  • @rudyhou - Shoot, was I not supposed to cheat?  oops!

  • @ElusiveWords - I only write with a pen and paper during my meetings and I am the only one who can comprehend what I write. :p

    @rudyhou - My handwriting is awful but sure it’ll be awesome to try one out. 

  • “how do you think they rate, personality wise?” You cannot tell if a person is shy or outgoing by their writing. However you can tell about sincerity and their attitude at that moment.

    Doctors sometimes have a hurried handwriting but that makes it both hard to read and hard to interprete too!

  • @beowulf222 - true. true. 

    @ElusiveWords - you got 4 out of 7 correct.  sorry about the map.  but i posted the wrong one earlier.  

    @ZSA_MD - you are forgiven 

    @oxyGENE_08 - you shall.  one day.  let’s hope it’s in the near future.

    @PPhilip - that’s very true.  probably it explains why ALL doctors have about the same handwriting.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.