December 24, 2013

  • Pen Du Mois (Dec’13).

    I swore to myself… NO MORE PENS!  But then I got weak.  I couldn’t help but to browse online.  Just to see.  At least, that’s what I told myself.  Then I saw this gorgeous baby.  Simple, slick, black, beautiful.  I had it on my ‘Watch’ list, thinking that I shouldn’t buy one.  And if I put it on my watch list then it wouldn’t do me harm, ‘cause chances are I would forget about it.

    I did forget about it.  But since it was on a watch list, a reminder email was sent to indicate that the sell will be over soon.  The email jogged my memory.  I went back to the site to see what had me interested in the first place and boy, was that a mistake.  My eye balls got larger.  It seemed more beautiful than I remembered.  And still within my budget.  I read the description again and it hasn’t changed.  It is still a brand new vintage Pilot from the 70s and comes with a Fine nib.  Immediately, it reminded me of a similar vintage Pilot I got last year, also from the 70s, which I love.  Like someone who has just seen water after a 10K run, I reached out for my wallet and flipped out my card.

    THAT was in late November.  The seller is based in Japan.  It took weeks to get my baby to finally land on my desk, thanks to the efficiency of the local postal service.  But it turns out that the timing is perfect.  Just in time to celebrate my upcoming bday.  This baby is a bday present I got for myself.

    IMG_1443

    IMG_1444

    IMG_1445

    IMG_1446

    IMG_1447

    It looks just as nice as it was shown online.  And it feels right in my hand.  My hand is itching.  Begging me to quickly decide on an ink choice and to fill her up.  I can’t wait to ink this baby up and bring it along with me to Hongkong.  Yes, I will take her with me on a vacation this month as I did last year with her distant cousin :)

Comments (10)

  • Another pen … hee hee. Happy Birthday Rudy! You probably need some extra home insurance for all your pens.

  • Happy Birthday Rudy.

    And I am jealous. I want one like that, except I am looking for a Parker with a hooded fine nib. I have been going through “pendemonium” site. But haven’t seen anything like what I want.
    Thank you for your comments on my posts. Yes it is very cold here.

  • You are a weak, weak man Rudy. Happy birthday nonetheless. Muah!

  • I could’t find you on FB. I seldom come here nowadays. Too lazy to write long entries. Add me on FB? My email is monicaung@yahoo.com

  • you know what? i think i do ;p

  • thank you. don’t rush in finding that one pen that steals your heart. it has got to feel right or don’t bother getting one at all. i have read the online news. the whole usa is in a freezing state. stay warm, zakiah. have plenty hot tea with maybe some ginger and cinnamon and clove. if you prefer something simple, a hot cacao could do the trick :)

  • i know, i know :( what can i do? it’s my bday. gotta pamper myself a little, no?

  • i certainly will, monica. my FB user name is hsw1113. i shall search for you soon.

  • Happy belated birthday. Lovely pen! :) Have you been writing lately?

  • thank you. been busy and lazy to blog :)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Recent Comments

Categories