August 19, 2014

  • Jetlagged.

    It’s been a sleep deprived week since I got back and it is a problem.  My brain still functions in German time.  Feeling frustrated with being jetlagged, I turned to alcohol.  CHOYA style.

    IMG_3768

    A little bit of sake, given as a gift, oh, I don’t know how long ago…

    IMG_3760  IMG_3756

    With a little bit of umeshu, purchased many years ago…

    IMG_3765  IMG_3763

    And you get this…

    IMG_3766

    A balance of flavor in lightness from sake and in sweetness from umeshu, complementing each other in a clear liquid of blush-copper shade.

    Long gone the high note of a slight stringent filtered rice alcohol taste of sake.  Long gone the intoxicating pungency of sweet and sour plum of umeshu.  What’s born from the marriage of the two is a welcoming gift to the night.  Bringing with it a new and mellow fragrant freshness and a subtlety in sweetness.   And hopefully a quick remedy for a good-night sleep.

    Wish me luck.

Comments (2)

  • Sorry I haven’t visited for so long. Good that you wrote on this type of drinking (I don’t drink so I don’t know much about it)

    Xanga is not what I hoped it would be but hey I am still around but not doing much except comments.

  • not a problem, phil. it’s good to hear from you again. yes, i am also very disappointed with xanga. so far i have only 2-3 members who still read and comment on my posts here. now i post on both xanga and wordpress. many have migrated there. and i don’t blame them. it’s free and they get a much broader audience, and in turn, more followers.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.